Non-profit Webinar Series

Do you work or volunteer with one of the Basin’s many non-profit organizations? Through its Non-profit Advisors Program, Columbia Basin Trust is hosting a series of webinars that could help build the knowledge and capacity of your non-profit.

See the list below for upcoming webinar dates and detailed session descriptions. These webinars are offered to Basin non-profits and their staff and volunteers.

Upcoming Webinars

This engaging webinar will be led by two data-enthusiasts, who are well-versed in the world of non-profits. This webinar will provide an introduction to what data is, how it may be useful, and an overview of simple strategies to manage data – including how to plan, process and analyze data. The webinar will include time for discussion and questions specific to your non-profit.

Jess and Avi Phillips are a dynamic duo who share a deep love of data combined with the ability to transmit their knowledge in a clear and engaging way. They each have experience volunteering for small Basin non-profits and are excited to support the capacity of Basin non-profits through this webinar.

This webinar will be held on Thursday, October 13 at 1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. PT / 2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. MT.

Register here.

A strong and flexible governance framework for your non-profit supports its ability to realize its mission within a changing environment. This webinar will explore how to strengthen your governance model and make it more adaptable within your organization’s mission, through addressing three questions: Why link governance and your organization’s mission? Who participates in governance and when? What ways might you bring your organization’s mission, vision and values to life?

Judy Oberlander has worked with Canadian non-profit organizations in the areas of arts, culture and social services in a variety of capacities including board leadership, as a staff member, consultant, and volunteer over the past 35 years. She shares her experience from these different perspectives to assist non-profit leaders to strengthen their governance and to realize their organizations’ missions.

This webinar will be held on Wednesday, October 19 at 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. PT / 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. MT.

Register here.

This webinar will support participants in creating realistic and flexible budgets and provide tips on seeing them through. Learn about different types of budgets, how to create accurate and achievable budgets, and strategies for reviewing, updating and monitoring your budget throughout the year and over multiple years.

Naomi Havard is a Chartered Professional Accountant, instructor at Selkirk College and former strawberry farmer. She has experience supporting numerous non-profits with everything from budgeting to audits

This webinar will be held on Thursday, October 20 at 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. PT / 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. MT.

Register here.

Join this webinar to learn about the legal risks, liabilities and responsibilities taken on by your non-profit when engaging volunteers. The webinar will help you understand the law so that you can minimize your risks and ensure that volunteers are properly managed by your organization.

Presenter Johnathan Arkle is a lawyer with Doak Sheriff Lawyers LLP in Kelowna and specializes in employment and human resource law. This webinar is delivered in partnership with Kelowna Community Resource Society.

This webinar will be held on Tuesday, November 8 at 2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. PT / 3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. MT.

Register here.

No matter what you call it – an investment prospectus, a donor message, a case for support – every organization needs a document that outlines who you are, why donors should support you and the impact of their support.

Whether it’s inspiring people to donate time, money, or in-kind contributions, a strong case for support is well-worth the time it takes to develop, and support your board, staff and volunteer to clearly communicate the value of your mission to the public.

Join us for a webinar which will walk you through the development of a case for support, and learn more about the many ways to use it. Bring your questions!

Rowena Veylan is an experienced fundraiser and facilitator, whose passion for her work has been described as contagious. She has been working with non-profits since 2003.

This webinar will be held on Thursday, November 17 at 5:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. PT / 6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. MT.

Register here.

This interactive webinar will cover effective communication and conflict management for non-profits, with a focus on group dynamics. Learn how to set up a group discussion for success, as well as strategies for re-focusing, re-framing and re-direction. In addition, this webinar will share some self-regulation techniques to help keep your group members present and grounded when encountering conflict. Whether you are a staff member or volunteer, this webinar may help you to enhance your understanding of conflict and support you in responding constructively.

Lori Frank is a an experienced consultant and mediator who has worked in the non-profit sector for over 25 years.

This webinar will be held on Tuesday, November 22 at 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. MT.

Register here.