Climate Resilience Program

People living in the Basin identified Climate Resilience as a priority as a part of the Columbia Basin Management Plan (2020-2022). The Trust defines Climate resilience as the ability to anticipate, prepare for and respond to events, trends or opportunities related to climate change.

The Climate Resilience Program helps communities in the Basin become more climate resilient by supporting large-scale, multi-year, shovel-ready climate mitigation, adaptation, and resilience projects that help reduce the causes of climate change and to take action to manage the risks of climate change impacts.

To learn more, review the Program Guide, many frequently asked questions are outlined extensively in the document.

As an integrated priority, the Trust has integrated climate resilience into its strategic priorities by supporting:

The Trust is hosting information sessions for interested organizations to learn more about the program. If you would like to submit questions before hand, please email them to climateresilience@ourtrust.org.

  • Information Session 1: Friday, September 24 at 10:00 a.m. PT / 11:00 a.m. MT. You can register for this session here.
  • Information Session 2: Wednesday, September 29 at 1:00 p.m. PT / 2:00 p.m. MT. You can register for this session here.

The Climate Resilience Program has a two-step application process. 

  1. Applicants must first complete a Project Idea (application) online. Before you apply, contact the program coordinator at climateresilience@ourtrust.org to review your project idea.
  2. Your Project Idea will then be shared and discussed at a sub-region community workshop. These workshops provide an opportunity for community members to review the proposed projects and provide input. Projects are then reviewed and prioritized with successful applicants invited to submit a detailed proposal for the Trust to consider funding.

The Project Idea submission deadline is November 1, 2021, at 2:00 p.m. PT / 3:00 p.m. MT. We will not accept applications after this deadline.

If selected to move forward, you will hear from us by November 15, 2021. Your detailed proposal will be due by January 20, 2022. 

  1. Contact the Program Coordinator at climateresilience@ourtrust.org.
  2. Download the Application Guide and the Worksheet at the link provided by the Program Coordinator.
  3. Review the Application Guide for direction and advice on how to complete the application form.
  4. Use the worksheet to develop your application offline if you so choose.
  5. Complete the application form and submit it online.

If you have any questions about the application process, please contact Program Coordinator at climateresilience@ourtrust.org or 1-800-505-8998.

Email Sign Up for Climate Resilience Program
To receive email updates from the Trust about our Climate Resilience Program, enter your first name, last name, and email below.